The Marriage Bed

dontblamethesinner

 

Don’t blame the sinner.

The pleas all catch in

her throat like

words, ashes

on the tips of their tongues,

all disappeared in

cupped mouths now,

in curious noise,

in sheets like

tangled ribbon.

 

She is

broken glass,

a vorticose tunnel

of sweet rhythms

and soft hands,

a queen of pawns.

Sinning is easy when

there is no focus

in her eyes.

 

Don’t hold the sinner when she

wears that black veil

like some golden crown,

like sanctity above

warm shoulders,

worn lips,

’cause while sweat still crawls down

spines

she is turning down the lights

in the marriage bed.

********

This is my response to this week’s Speakeasy over at Yeah Write. The prompt requires writers to include “Don’t blame the sinner” as the first line of a fiction or poetry piece of 750 words or less; writers must also make some sort of reference to the above painting. Hope you enjoyed my contribution!

speakeasy

 

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

22 responses to “The Marriage Bed

  1. This is a great piece Nicole. Stunning imagery.
    Caught you on TMS by the way. What a killer experience that must have been.
    Keep Inspiring

    John

    • John,

      Thank you so much. :) And so awesome you saw me!! I was amazed at how many times I saw my face, haha!

      • As much as I wish they would have filmed in the Bay Area (my home and arguably the birthplace of thrash) It is good to see those guys back home in their own stomping grounds. Was happy to see you there and glad it rocked.

      • Even Matt Nathanson seemed to know his way around metal which was pretty cool. I know a lot of people were in an uproar because he was going to be on the show.

      • Yeah that was a bit strange but cool in it’s own way. Kinda validates that metal goes beyond it’s own genre and touches other musicians and fans.

  2. Deanna Herrmann

    I knew I’d love it as soon as I saw you posted it! I love how you choose your words so carefully. They seem very well thought out.

  3. I could visualize the sweat crawling down her spine. It is a wonderful poem.

  4. Awesome! Wonderful writing… I loved all of it, but ‘worn lips’ is so excellent!

  5. The imagery was so vivid I almost got goosebumps for I felt it was so real! Thanks for sharing !

  6. How you paint such vivid pictures and evoke gut-punch feelings with so few words is beyond me. (Can you sense the poet-envy?!?!)
    Loved it, Nicole.

  7. Wonderful poem – I especially like the last stanza with the black veil :)

  8. Beautifully written! Great imagery and awesome mood. The second stanza is fantastic and those last two lines are perfect. Thanks for joining us at the speakeasy! :)

  9. Powerful emotions in here!Loved the lines,”Don’t hold the sinner when she

    wears that black veil

    like some golden crown,

    like sanctity above

    warm shoulders,” :-)

  10. Pingback: winner of the speakeasy #149 | the speakeasy at yeah write

  11. Pingback: Yeah Write Editors’ Pick |

So...what do you think?

