all the best pieces of you

 

 

how would you feel

if you knew

I take all the best pieces of you

and put them into

tiny frames

 

they aren’t always perfect

sometimes the edges

don’t fit

they reach out

all excess

 

so I trim them

with the poultry scissors

beside the kitchen sink

ignoring the wrinkles

behind the cheap glass

 

the extra

falls

down

the garbage

disposal

 

I turn it on

crank the water

listen to the

blending of

foreign objects

 

“that doesn’t belong in there”

you’d tell me

but you’re outside

clearing the snow

from the driveway

 

I excavate some pushpins

from the junk drawer

I scatter them like

playing darts

across the living room wall

 

you’re back inside

the cold sticks to your skin

and I am standing

hands on hips

admiring my handiwork

 

“this one’s crooked” you say

pushing upwards on one frame

with a gloved index finger

I smile and thank you

I put a finger to my lips

 

you are on the couch now

silent,

gloves still on

watching me move my hands

watching me tip each frame

 

I stand back,

you laugh,

“that’s more like it” you say

“that’s it” I say, smiling

“bad parts and all”.

 

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

17 responses to “all the best pieces of you

  1. I really like this Nicole. A unique way to tell a story. And very fitting for me as I am in the process of moving, and picture hanging is right around the corner. Can’t wait for my minds eye to play tricks and tell me time and again that a straight picture is crooked. And with my Libran curse I will squelch that mind game by breaking out the level. Libra – 1 Minds eye – 0. I win!!!! Hope all is well with you. Keep Inspiring

    John

  2. ROSES

    Beautiful piece. Had to reread it.

  3. Oh, so YOU have all my best parts!! No wonder I’ve sucked all week…

  4. Sometimes I hang pictures crooked on purpose…and I don’t trim the edges, I get bigger frames and let them sit askew under the matting; but to each their own!

    Nice work, kid!

  5. Damn woman. You continually blow me away. And that new header… Wow!

  6. I love it all but the very first stanza is my favorite….just beautiful and endearing.

So...what do you think?

