where loneliness begins

 

I remember drab linoleum

like a jaded family reunion

 

in muggy midsummer there are

flies making figure eights

over the casserole

 

that place is where

my loneliness begins.

 

a fan in the corner

is humming dust bunny confetti

around my bedroom

 

occasionally I hear

a lock turn over

 

the wood is splintered

at the bottom of my door

 

they won’t believe me

 

but it’s louder than

my songs

that rattle paper walls

like sudden cracks of thunder.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

7 responses to “where loneliness begins

  1. I really like how you combine the mundane starkness of the scene with such startling imagery -
    “drab linoleum
    like a jaded family reunion”
    is a particularly amazing phrase.

  2. Amazing imagery with the flies and casserole.

So...what do you think?

