Submit, Submit, Submit!

This is what I look like when I'm scraping for a good idea.

While strolling through the aisles of Barnes & Noble yesterday afternoon (I could spend hours in that store), I picked up a copy of Writer’s Journal and the latest issue of Poetry Magazine.

Picking up magazines and reading the poetry and short stories that get published always gives me the imaginary kick in the butt I need to get back into gear and continue submitting everything I possibly can to every literary magazine and website there possibly is.

So after flipping through the pages of Writer’s Journal, I found information on an annual contest, in which you are provided with half of a sentence to begin your story. I love writing prompts, and am definitely excited to get creative with one of these lines:

Inside the envelope…

Struggling to her feet…

Whatever you do, don’t…

I’m pretty keen on that last one, and already have a few ideas swirling inside my little head.

The possibilities are endless. So please, wish me luck!

I submitted a few poems to Poetry, which is published by the Poetry Foundation. I have all fingers and toes crossed on that one.

I’m praying that something will stick, and I’ll be able to start a platform for my future as a creative writer. In other news, the job market is still quiet. So to keep myself somewhat immersed in the literary world, I am working to get a job at the bookstore. Anything to surround me with what I love (but so bad for my wallet).

I continue the uphill struggle, sometimes bursting with inspiration and sometimes wanting to wave my white flag. So it goes for every writer; we must keep our chins up high!

                                                                                                                                                                                                       “All these words for love (for you), all these ways to say believe in symphily, to say let us live near each other.”

Reginald Dwayne Betts

6 Comments

Filed under Jobs, Writing

6 responses to “Submit, Submit, Submit!

  1. I did the same thing today, wandering the aisles of Barnes and Noble. Love that place.

  2. I found your blog while searching under creative writing. It’s sad and nice at the same time to know I’m not alone in the push and pull of emotion that seems to be the life of the writer. I’m waiting to hear back about several pieces I’ve sent out. One of them is a contest with a very helpful prize, but I have to be fine until October 15th. (And not fall apart then if they don’t choose my work. This being a grown up sucks sometimes.)

    I’m intrigued by people who’ve had the chance to study writing in a college setting. I crave this kind of knowledge, though I’ve been awfully tired the last few days. Maybe it’s burn-out from a month or so of hard work with a specific story. I’m trying to teach mysellf as much I can on my own, and with a little help from the writer friends I’ve made through my blog, so I’m glad to find you here. My name is Ré. I’m going to bookmark your blog and see how we get on. Nice to meet you!

    • Nice to meet you, Re! Being able to learn within the college setting definitely helped develop my writing, but since graduation this past May, it’s been a scary journey being out here on my own, not having a professor and fellow students to critique me a few days a week (not to mention keep me motivated). Us writers have to stick together and keep each other going! So please, anything I post, I appreciate all the feedback I can get! 🙂 I’ll be checking out your blog as well.

      Good luck with your writing – I look forward to reading your posts!

So...what do you think?

