If a black cat means bad luck, I’m screwed.

At least the one in my dream didn't look like he was going to eat me.

Could it be that my mind is going into Halloween mode, with the beautiful chilly weather we’ve been having? Or maybe it was the Merlot we drank that evening?

Either way, I haven’t had an actual nightmare in quite a while. But Saturday night brought a black cat and the premonition of death into my head.

First, here’s how it went:

I sat on the couch in someone’s living room, while a co-worker of mine was in the bathroom. Suddenly I heard the front door creak open, and turned my head to look down a long hallway, where I saw a sliver of light creep in along with the black cat. How did he open the door? I have no idea. But he slinked inside and began to make his way down the hall.

Somehow, as most of us do in strange dreams, I knew he was there for me, and that it was bad news bears.

And so I ran, frightened, into the bathroom with my co-worker, where I slammed the door shut and figured I would be safe. The cat, who had reached the bathroom just then, began to sweep his paws back and forth in the crack between door and floor, and I made every attempt I could to bat them away.

Then comes the really creepy part.

The cat’s face appeared as he effortlessly slipped his body through that same crack. Of course I nearly had a heart attack, especially when he proceeded to rise up on his back legs, coming towards me with paws outstretched.

Here, I begged: “I’m not ready to go! Not yet! There are still people I have to help!”

And with that, the cat promised me another 6 months.

I woke startled, and convinced I was going to die unless I did something to somehow benefit others.

Strange, is it not?

I’ve always been aware of the symbolism of the black cat in relation to Halloween, etc. But after a quick Google search I stumbled upon this site, that aids in interpreting dreams as crazy as my own.

The site talks about cats as symbols of femininity, independence, sexuality – all of which I did not feel were trying to be known in my dream. And then I read this:

“To see a black cat in your dream indicates that you are experiencing some fear in using your psychic abilities and believing in your intuition. You may erroneously associate the black cat with evil, destruction, and bad luck. In particular, if the black cat is biting, clawing or attacking you, then the dream means that you must acknowledge what your intuition is trying to tell you. You can no longer ignore it. Do not be afraid to face the situation. If you see a white cat, then it denotes difficult times.”

I definitely don’t think I retain any psychic abilities, but I do strongly believe in my own intuition. It has revealed the truth to me on several occasions, and when it’s at work it always puts knots in my stomach. The curious thing? I went to bed that night with that nauseous, knots-in-my-tummy feeling (but so did a girlfriend that stayed over…we thought it was the chicken from the wedding).

While the cat did not bite or claw me, I’d say standing on your hind legs and running towards me can be categorized as an attack. Is my intuition trying to tell me something? For now, I’m not sure. But I’m trying to keep my mind wide open to anything my little “friend” was trying to reveal.

For now, I’ll keep thinking it was the chicken (and the wine).

And maybe I’ll do some volunteer work…

Have any wacky dreams lately?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “If a black cat means bad luck, I’m screwed.

  1. I just had a delightfully wacky one this morning, no dangerous happenings, though. I won’t go into it because it had serious ADD, and the scenes kept changing so much that I wondered about that while I was dreaming. My brain was probably just delighted that I was actually asleep for a change. Darned insomnia. Wouldn’t it be nice if that was all over? Sigh…

  2. Pingback: Dream A Little Dream… | wordsandotherthings

So...what do you think?

