Project Apple Crisp a Success

These are our yummy hand-picked apples before they were slaughtered into thin pieces and spread evenly in a glass pan. Notice my first glass of Cabernet is already gone….there were several that followed, as myself – and a girlfriend I had recruited for help – began to bake.

I wish I had a fancy schmancy camera to take bright, delicious-looking photos of the task, but alas, all I have is a Droid X with a cracked screen and a tendency to freeze up at any random moment. Blegh.

So, for about half an hour we sliced, while catching bits and pieces of “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!”; then we mixed ingredients and melted the shortening and coated the entire kitchen counter in a light, fluffy layer of flour while trying to watch Halloween.

Finally the topping was on the apples, and the pan was shoved into the oven. And 40 minutes later, out popped this:

Well, it didn’t exactly come out like that – the entire pan was full, but the aroma of cinnamon and apples filled our nostrils and we dug in before I could snap a picture. Noticed those little dry, white parts? So I didn’t cover every part with shortening. Not bad for a first try. And those dry, white parts tasted good, too….

Even Joe told me he was proud; he had 2 helpings and enjoyed them both.

My friend and I couldn’t resist 2 helpings either, especially when paired with the yummy Vanilla Bean ice cream I bought:


Like the skull and crossbones table runner? I used it to decorate for Halloween, but if it was strictly up to me we’d keep it there year round.

So there you have it: the Apple Crisp was a success, although we made a mess and killed a bottle of wine in the process. It just added to the fun! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Project Apple Crisp a Success

  1. so where’s my slice? sheeesh…well done. continue…

So...what do you think?

