Sometimes, my novel hurts me.

“Writing a novel is like making love, but it’s also like having a tooth pulled. Pleasure and pain. Sometimes it’s like making love while having a tooth pulled.”

Dean Koontz

Mr. Koontz hit the nail on the head with that one. With day 3 of NaNoWriMo breathing down my neck this morning, I put on my slippers, made myself some breakfast, and headed for the computer, feeling refreshed and ready to bang out a hefty word count. While I did get some work done (my word count has now reached 5,086!) I had to keep brushing away that feeling that crept its way up my spine and made my hands sweat: I was slowly approaching a brick wall. The anxiety managed to distract me away from the task at hand, but only for a few moments – you know, updating my Twitter status, sifting through some blogs, scanning the Facebook news feed. But I quickly shook the fear from my mind and kept on goin’. So – according to my NaNoWriMo “Stats” – I am on track to reaching 50,000 words by November 30th. This is good.

Every word that makes its way from my head to the keyboard to the virtual page is another step towards a finished first draft. This serves as my reminder, when I’m questioning why I stay in this abusive relationship. My novel may beat on me at times, but she makes me so happy! I swear! Maybe if I’d pay her more attention, she wouldn’t do these things to me.

“It’s not you, it’s me.” That’s what I tell her.

It’s only day 3, and I already owe NaNoWriMo and the thousands that are ripping their hair out along with me this month a huge “thank you” for the motivation you don’t even know you’re feeding me. Here’s hoping we each come out of the tunnel on the 30th with a first draft.

In the wise words of Dori the fish, even when times get hard:

Just keep swimming!

New vow: I will post about something other than NaNoWriMo this month. But it’s sort of hard to think about anything else during a month of “literary abandon”, is it not?

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Sometimes, my novel hurts me.

  1. I’m rooting for you, Nicole. When immersed in my work, it’s hard for me to think about anything else, too. As far as I’m concerned, talk about it all you want. You go girrrl!

    I wish I were working on my own book. The big picture has some clarity, but the sentences are blocked. I’m trying to gently push those creative ducks into a row.

  2. work you husky, work. don’t eat, don’t watch tv, don’t shower, don’t do nothing. just work. okay, we’ve had complaints – you can shower. and then work! continue girl…continue…

    • Hahaha. That reminded me of when I was a kid – we had a husky named Shadow, and when it snowed we’d take him to this huge open space nearby, tie him to a sled and make him pull us around. It was great.

      You can’t tie me to a sled and make me pull you around in the snow, but I will certainly keep writing this damn novel. No time to shower! I’ll just throw on some deodorant and perfume to cover the smell.

So...what do you think?

