Happenings

The past week feels like a blur, but what was I doing, really?

Playing with my new Xbox, soaking in the last moments with Joe’s parents before their journey back home, working a few shifts, relaxing and enjoying.

The dinner with all four parents went extremely well, by the way. So very happy about it!!! Whenever my lazy ass gathers the energy, there are all kinds of pictures to be posted on my spiffy new digital camera.

Joe and I both worked on New Years Eve until about 7PM; sounds like we got lucky, right? Time to par-tay! Stay up late! Watch that ball drop! Get our drink on!

Not when you’re both working the suicide shift at work the next morning. 5:30 AM to 9 PM. Oh yes, that’s right. Sixteen fabulous, fun-filled hours. (It was totally worth it, though, no matter how bad I wanted to crawl underneath the bar and take a snooze.)

Needless to say, we did not celebrate with friends on New Years Eve. Instead, we grabbed a 6 pack, each had one, and crawled into bed at 10:30. Midnight kiss a little premature, but it was fine by me. I woke up (briefly) at 12:01 anyway, from the booming of the fireworks and shouts outside our bedroom window, and all of the text messages that began flowing in.

We’ve been window shopping homes and taking each day as it comes.

My anxiety is getting easier to handle; it’s sort of like relearning to take things as they come – something I had no problem doing one month ago, but have had a problem with at several other points throughout my life. So, it’s just getting back in the ring, just like before. (Therapy continues to help.)

Joe is forming a new band with some friends, and I begin an 8-week writing course this Monday.

Dear Change,

I welcome you, no matter how intimidating you may seem at times. Be kind to me.

Love,

Nicole

I hope everyone is having an amazing 2012 so far.

🙂

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

10 responses to “Happenings

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Good luck with the writing course 🙂 They can be inspiring – & good luck with your Joe’s band.

    It’s always interesting to read what “others” did. My son went to a party, but I didn’t. That was it for us!

    • Thank you!!

      Yes – New Years doesn’t have to be some huge party for me. It’s a lot safer to be indoors on that night anyway. I’d rather not be run over by a drunk driver 😉

  2. You know what you should try? Write lyrics for one of Joe’s band’s songs. Wouldn’t that be sweet?

  3. you’ll be fine…you write good. continue…

  4. A writing course in this new year sounds so good to me. I hope you love every minute. And I’m so envious of Joe’s new band. I keep thinking someday…

    I hope 2012 is great for you!

    • Thank you, Re! I’m excited about it, and looking forward to getting those juices flowing again.

      Do you sing? Or play an instrument? You have an “artsy” look to you. I picture you as a singer. 🙂

      I hope 2012 is wonderful for you, as well. 🙂

      • Artsy? I like that. Why, thank you!

        Yeah, I sing. I think I’ve written a few decent songs, but I’m not a prolific songwriter. Wish I played more than rudimentary guitar, though.

  5. Sounds like you’re all set for a great year.
    Love the letter to Change at the end.
    Rock on!

So...what do you think?

