Bitten By The Lazy Bug

la-zy [ley-zee]

verb, -zied, -zy-ing.

1. averse or disinclined to work, activity, or exertion; indolent.
2. causing idleness or indolence: a hot, lazy afternoon.
3. slow-moving; sluggish: a lazy stream.
4. (of a livestock brand) placed on its side instead of upright.
All of those describe me lately. Even number four.
My clean clothes have been sitting in a wrinkled pile on the floor for two days, and Joe just dumped them on the bed and started folding them.
“I’ll do that – don”t do that!” I yelled in protest from my half-lying down position, a pillow under my legs.
“If I wait for you do to it, they’ll sit here all week. Right? Right.”
::Makes sad face::
He’s right.
A huge helping of lazy with a medium side of “blah” has been keeping me out of the gym, off of my blog, and glued to my Xbox.
Joe told me not to feel bad, that sometimes it’s okay to sit back and relax, and not run around all day every day. But five days out of seven? I’m not so sure that qualifies as simply taking some time to relax.
My new job has me working Saturdays and Sundays and only picking up shifts during the week, so if I get no call to work Monday-Friday, my ass is on the couch more often than not. I’m pretty sure I’m becoming more pale than usual, since my flesh barely ever sees the light of day.
I did start my 8-week writing course, which will be a blessing in helping me with those last few steps out of my funk. I’m working hard every day to get my confidence back, and get my life back to normal. I am work-shopping my first piece in 2 weeks, and I’m excited about receiving feedback again. Once my final draft is locked in, I’ll post it here.
Today – before turning on the television – I forced myself to the gym for the first time in a while. It felt good to sweat out some negative thoughts. It made me feel a little powerful, a little strong, a little more confident. (Those inspiring feelings promptly died when I returned home and went back to my usual routine…but it’s a start.)
I’m staying as positive as possible, but this “depression” thing is getting really old. As much as I love Winter, I find myself for the first time in my life anticipating Spring. I think I need the warmth – on my skin and on my heart.
How is everyone lately?
10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

10 responses to “Bitten By The Lazy Bug

  1. Reading this post, I found myself wondering if your “normal” mode is driven, A-Type – like me and almost all other Americans. If so, according to a psych professor I once had, “laziness” and even depression are tactics the psyche can use to slow us down. Astrologically, they are under the influence of Saturn, dark and heavy, who keeps us from constantly bouncing off the walls.

    I cannot know how it is for you, but if I can *allow* myself to be lazy when the mood strikes, sooner or later I find myself with some little impulse – a quiet voice saying, “Hmmm, this looks interesting.” I’ve made a few interesting discoveries that way.

    I agree with you on the gym. When I’m feeling down, a trip to the gym or a brisk walk with the dogs is superb medicine – endorphins for free.

    I know what you mean about spring and summer too. I’m ready too.

  2. I’m glad you’re working on your writing, Nicole. Mine is pretty much all I’ve been working on lately, too, besides trying really hard to feed myself. (I don’t want to end up like your cartoon.)

    When taking a shower (even though my house IS awfully cold) feels like a major undertaking, it’s a sure thing something is wrong. I’m not so good, but as long as I’m writing I have the feeling I could be all right in the end. I’m thinking of Spring, too.

  3. To add to Morgan’s comment, if you’re Type A, what you call ‘lazy’ is like most people’s ‘busy’. Don’t think of it as 5 days out of 7 – think of it as 1 day of relaxation for every 10-20 days of hard work.

  4. NM, for me, the cartoon says it all. continue…

  5. I hate having to get out of bed, but it’s necessary sometimes. When it’s slow at work like now, it’s as if it’s a real inconvenience for me for someone to ask me to do something. Until I start, that is, then it’s just something I’m doing right then, at least as productive as the crossword puzzles I hide in my drawer.
    Keep doing, but keep resting too, like they say.

So...what do you think?

