“Ahhh his shirt is tucked in!!!”

Joe and I spent a lovely morning/afternoon together yesterday, celebrating the holiday I swear to care nothing about; but that didn’t stop me from giving my best sad face when I found out he had to rehearse last night. No matter, we scarfed down blueberry french toast and coffee and chocolate and enjoyed the company of each other before getting on with the day. It was lovely.

And so as Joe packed up his keyboard and guitar and amp and other odds and ends, I cracked open a bottle of red (of course) and plopped myself onto the couch. About two hours later my video-gaming was interrupted by a phone call from a close girlfriend, where she told me all about the mysterious man-from-the-gym who had been gawking at her for weeks, and that he’d finally “approached” her, in the form of a note left on her windshield that read, “Be my Valentine?”, with a phone number scrawled underneath.

I find it a little odd that he didn’t just come up and introduce himself at some point in the gym, but I know how I feel when I’m sweating and trying to get my run on, and someone comes up and tries to talk to me. It’s not a good time.

Anyway, she had plans to meet him at a local bar, where she knows a lot of people (a safe plan). I gave a few of my usual motherly warnings, about not getting in his car, not leaving the bar together, etc., and told her to have a good time.

A while later, I received the text that has doubled as today’s blog post title:

“Ahhh his shirt is tucked in!!!”

I laughed out loud, and immediately responded with, “Is that a good thing or a bad thing?”

No response. But, it got me thinking about the tucked in shirt. What does this say about a man? I think it all depends on what kind of shirt he’s wearing. What kind of outfit he’s wearing, actually. Is it a dress shirt? A dress shirt with jeans, or dress pants? If jeans, then un-tuck that thing. If dress pants, then leave it tucked in. But if he was wearing dress pants, why was he wearing them to a low-key bar? What does that say about him? Is he trying too hard? Does he have a lot of money? What if he’s wearing a t-shirt and jeans, and the tee is tucked in? Now that’s just nerdy.

I’ll have to gather all of the details, then I can really decide if the shirt in this scenario was rightfully tucked in. Regardless, it made me giggle that the first thing the girl with a fashion degree noticed was, of course, the man’s tucked in shirt.

Joe just came in as I sit here typing away; he’s been growing his hair (with no real plan or goal length, just a curious desire to see how long he can stand it), and I’ve been begging him to cut it. While I adore the pictures of my fiancee (:)) from the ’90s with his grunge-like long hair, I prefer the Joe of 2012 with his short spikes. I’ve been trying to grow my hair out from the pixie cut I’ve had for a while, and right now, we pretty much have the same hair style. Not sure how I feel about this.

I am “patiently” waiting for the next 2 months to pass, so I can find out if the short story I entered into The Writer’s Journal has received any praise from the judges. Even one of their “honorable mentions” would be enough for me. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Only 2 more sessions left for my writing course, which has continued to go well. While I promised to post the first short story I workshopped in the course, I feel it needs a bit more revising before I release it into cyberspace. I’m still getting back on the writing/exercising/life-in-general horse, so I’m not as eager at the moment to put myself on the chopping block. But, I will post it soon enough.

I hope everyone is doing well! I’m off to avoid the refrigerator, and all of the chocolatey goodness inside of it.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

12 responses to ““Ahhh his shirt is tucked in!!!”

  1. We wear jeans to work on Fridays, and I keep my shirt tucked in.
    Though at my old job, I wore jeans every day and never tucked my shirt in, even after they spoke to me about it. Multiple times.
    Sounds like you had a good lazy day! More power to you!

  2. My ex had his shirt tucked in at the altar. It was off white with a band collar and summery tone on tone embroidered tucks down the front. He wore it with pale olive linen pants that tied at the waist and closed toe (expensive! but I got ’em 50% off) sandals. Can you tell that our wedding had a studied, summery casual theme? Yeah, he wasn’t supposed to tuck. It looked like I was marrying a stuffed sausage. 🙂 You’ve got me curious to know which kind of tucking your friend was referring to!

    I’m glad you’re doing okay. I envy you the chocolate.

  3. love the pep in your step girrrl. continue…

  4. It’s all a matter of context as you and some of those who commented noticed. Nice picture btw. Some time ago, a co-worker who was an engineer, dressed up like that for a Halloween costume contest ar work and won a prize. One difference tho – he had a striped shirt tucked into the checkered pants.

  5. I prefer my husband’s shirts not tucked in (we aren’t dress up types). Actually I prefer him with no shirt, but that’s another topic. The hair thing made me laugh, too. My husband decided over a year ago not to touch his hair or his beard until his 50th birthday. It’s driving me insane. He calls it his unibomber look, and he’s all ready scared a few people when out in public. Writing, chocolate, and wine: a perfect world.

  6. Tucking shirts in is an art, not a science. It’s a zen state of mind. It’s a…. okay, fine. Don’t tuck in a sweater, and you’ll be fine.

  7. I hope all is well. Would love to hear from you, would love to hear more fiction from you.

So...what do you think?

