Lost & Found

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I viewed me from the other side

Of the glass tinted red as a sunset

A blood line of cracks forming at one corner

I called out, lips neatly parted

Always aware of how it might look

To others

 

I dug around inside for that sound

That had been there once,

Before my expiration date had again approached

And found me withering at the edges

No good anymore for anyone

Not me

 

I couldn’t hear myself

And breathing got harder in there

What life was left reached out and

Fogged up a patch of glass

Strong at first then quickly fading from view

 

But there was a message there

In the fog

I swear I saw it

“You’re here,” it said

“You never left”.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Lost & Found

  1. I’m glad you’re still there, and that you saw it. I’m trying not to care how I look to others anymore. Trying.

  2. “I dug around inside for that sound

    That had been there once,”

    This line really does it for me, so searching. An interesting piece of work.

    Jim

So...what do you think?

