Midnight Madness 2012

A year ago, exercise for me was a brisk walk on the treadmill before coming home and cracking open a Mountain Dew. Today, my only regret is that I didn’t start giving a crap about my health sooner.

Running is nothing short of therapy, both physically and mentally. I started with a mile, and gradually worked my way up… And I am proud to say a friend and I kicked ass on Saturday night with my longest run ever, the 8.4 mile loop around Philadelphia’s Schuylkill River, dubbed Midnight Madness.

We put on our glow sticks and blinky lights, and off we went. It was a blast!

Nike+ tracked us to the finish line (but Nike+ also tried to tell me I ran over 9 miles…wishful thinking but I’m pretty sure it’s wrong.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Woo-hoo!

Happy Tuesday!

 

 

 

 

 

13 Comments

Filed under Fitness

13 responses to “Midnight Madness 2012

  1. Chatter Master

    Fantastic run!!!! I’m jealous!

    • You should definitely do one in your area! It was a blast! 🙂

      • Chatter Master

        Oh…..I will be happy if I can complete the Color Run this weekend! Wish me luck! Running is not my strong suit.

      • I amazed myself that I was able to complete those 8 miles, especially in an hour and 26 minutes. Just keeping doing it and it only gets easier; it’s pretty cool to see what your body can do when you push it to its limits. Good luck with the color run! Post pictures!

      • Chatter Master

        I shall! And thank you! Running is something I always “want” to do. Every time I do….I end up getting hurt or something ridiculous happens. But I keep trying! I do it to make my biking stronger. But I love it for its freedom.

      • I love biking! I should start doing it more often. Be careful out there 😉

      • Chatter Master

        Thanks, you too! 🙂

  2. Woo-hoo, indeed! I’m jealous, too.

    I only ran in place at home, but for a few years, at the height of my healthy days, I felt I could go forever once the endorphins kicked in. I had to make myself cool down. It was bliss. From someone who’s older and wiser: always at least keep a foot in the fitness door, and never let someone else stop you. No matter what, find some time. (I let someone stop me. Getting back is becoming one of the hardest journeys of my life.)

    • Thank you, Ré! When my depression was at its darkest months ago, all exercise ceased to exist. I barely got out of bed or off of the couch except to work, and I thought I’d never get back into it. Thank goodness it was a bit easier than I thought it would be. Thank you for the reminder to always keep it going. And don’t forget to take your own advice, because you know what you’re talking about. 🙂

  3. Very cool! And it sounds like you had a good time.
    I prefer my exercise in short intense bursts punctuated by extreme terror.
    Wait – does bungee jumping count as exercise???

So...what do you think?

