Rock ‘n’ Roll 13.1

I thought I’d share a milestone with everyone this morning!

A year or two ago – as I’ve mentioned in previous posts – exercise was not a regular part of my vocabulary. But then I got into kickboxing – awesome – then I forced myself to go running (something I’ve always dreaded), and after those first few painful runs, I found myself beginning to enjoy it. I actually get up each morning now, and look forward to my runs. It’s definitely a therapy, and an addiction.

So on Sunday morning, in the beautiful, chilly breeze that flowed through the streets of Philadelphia, I completed my first half marathon. With extremely supportive friends by my side – and the amazing crowd that kept us going with cheers and bedazzled signs – we tore through the Philly Rock ‘n’ Roll half; bands played on the sidelines every few miles, which made it even cooler – and very rock ‘n’ roll, of course.

My predicted finish time: 2 hours, 30 minutes.

My official finish time: 2 hours, 30 minutes, 10 seconds. How cool is that?

Next goal: a full marathon.

 

23 Comments

Filed under Fitness

23 responses to “Rock ‘n’ Roll 13.1

  1. HELL YEAH!!!
    Way to go Nicole.
    I think anything you do is automatically rock n roll, because you’re doing it.

    • Ha!!! Thank you!!! Maybe it’s the tattoos making me look so rock ‘n’ roll. I make brushing my teeth look badass!!!! 😉

      • Haha, you know ^that guy Nicole? That’s so cool. I’m glad you found my little ole blog.
        How totally fricken awesome that you just finished your first HALF MARATHON! Congrats! Any bad-ass friend of Guap is a bad-ass friend of mine. Looking forward to following you and cheering you on.
        ~ Christy (RoS)

        PS- The VA Beach RnR 1/2 in 2010 was my very first half. They do an excellent job with their halfs; definitely a great “first” experience.

      • Hahaha, yes, I have had the pleasure of reading Mr. Guap’s blog for a while now! So happy to have found yours through his; his link to your post about training for your first MARATHON caught my attention! That is amazing! And thank you – it was a wonderful feeling to finish a half marathon. And I look forward to following your journey to your first 26.2 – that’s next on my list. 🙂

  2. Hollin Scott

    Oh wow! Now I can’t be proud of two miles any more. 🙂 That is awesome!

  3. well done, onwards and upwards.

    JIm

  4. Androgoth

    An excellent achievement my friend,
    now if only I could get into the training
    phase, well I do walk to the car and
    back so that’s a start surely 🙂 lol

    Have a very nice rest
    of evening Nicole Marie 🙂

    Androgoth

  5. Eric Murtaugh

    Nice work! Don’t you wish bands played on the sidelines every few miles everywhere you went in life?

  6. Androgoth

    I am just calling back in to wish
    you a wonderful rest of weekend 🙂

    Androgoth

  7. Pingback: The Other Woman – Romantic Monday | wordsandotherthings

  8. Pingback: Big Decisions | wordsandotherthings

So...what do you think?

