Daily Prompt: Mistress of….what?

 

1121_1Mistress Lucrezia

 

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

Well, after suffering some mental blockage like my friend twindaddy (even though his post still turned out epic and hilarious, with help from the Humping Trooper), I crept downstairs to ask the man for some advice. It went something like this: 

Me: “I need help. What am I really, really bad at?” (I’m so good at so many things, it’s hard to find that one thing I could stand to improve upon.)

Joe: “I don’t fuckin’ know!” (Manners!) “Only you know that.”

Me: “Oh please, you know plenty of things I’m horrible at.” (We’re mad about each other, I swear.)

Joe: “I don’t know, love.”

Me: “If I could choose one skill…to be mistress of…it’d be always having…uh…the best ideas…yeah. I don’t know.”

Joe: ::laughs::

Me: “I think this conversation is going to end up as my blog post.”

And so it has. But really, I don’t know if I could choose just one skill I’d like to master. I’m greedy, I want it all, I wanna be the best at everything. I’m competitive, you see. So if I could be a mistress of any skill in the world, I’d pick being the mistress of being awesome at everything. That’s a skill, right?

What’s that?

You say I’m a cheater?

Screw you. I’m awesome at everything, and you’re just jealous.

Okay, enough. Here’s some things I’d really like to master (or mistress?):

– baking (I made a pumpkin shaped cake for Joe’s birthday on Halloween, and it looked sad. Just sad.)

– packing (Joe’s the master of this one. He rolls his shirts military style and I toss everything in then sit on the suitcase.)

– folding (How does Joe get the towels folded so perfectly over the rack in the bathroom? It’s seriously a mystery to me. Are you noticing a theme here?)

– staying awake past midnight (I’ve become an old lady lately. Just look at this list so far!)

– speaking every language in the world (Oh, you’re talkin’ smack? Yeah, I know what you’re saying.)

– not letting idiot customers get to me (Really, what’s the point?)

 

Other Daily Prompt Posts:

http://mairedubhtx.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/daily-prompt-i-got-skills/

http://thecheekydiva.com/2013/01/22/daily-prompt-i-got-skills-thats-sew-awesome/

http://edwardhotspur.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/skillionaire-a-daily-prompt-post/

(And be sure to follow any links to other daily prompt posts these lovely bloggers have provided.)

Happy Tuesday, everyone! Tomorrow marks yet another day of a crappy opening shift. Hooray for Early Morning Musings!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

21 responses to “Daily Prompt: Mistress of….what?

  1. Even reading “humping trooper” made me laugh. I rule.

  2. I laughed at Humping Trooper and the whole thing. You both rule.

  3. Perhaps Mistress of Getting A Straight Answer out of Joe?

  4. This post made me laugh. I could almost hear the “discussion.”

  5. I still keep going back to the humping trooper….haha. I have issues, apparently.

  6. I’m picturing all the troopers I work with…the post made me laugh, the comments made me laugh, and I’m still clueless how I’d answer the question. I’d like to be mistress of my hair. Seriously, I went two days last week without brushing it and no one noticed. Hey. Wait. Guess I’m already mistress of the hair. Now I’m back to clueless and troopers.

  7. Nope, not cheating in my book! Being the Master/Mistress of everything is what I strive to do everyday!! 😛

  8. The picture you have chosen totally triggers my ‘when in doubt, throw it out’ rule. Uncertain gender, seriously. Yikes. Here’s how you can avoid cheating – you can be mistress of anything for a day, and then choose something else the next day.

  9. Folding towels is not an art form, but a talent that only some possess. My DNA does not possess that talent.

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dearly Departed | Stuphblog

So...what do you think?

