Daily Prompt: “Because it’s the halves that halve you in half.”

Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

I thought I understood it, that I could grasp it, but I didn’t, not really. Only the smudgeness of it; the pink-slippered, all-containered, semi-precious eagerness of it. I didn’t realize it would sometimes be more than whole, that the wholeness was a rather luxurious idea. Because it’s the halves that halve you in half. I didn’t know, don’t know, about the in-between bits; the gory bits of you, and the gory bits of me.

This movie makes my eyes and nose leak every. single. time. Young love, first love, long-distance relationships, this film covers it all. The soundtrack is beautiful, the actors are amazing, the hurt in her voice when she calls just to hear his…just thinking about it gets me choked up. We’ve all been there. After I watched it for the first time, I turned to my best friend as the credits began to roll and found we both had the same look of dumbfoundedness on our faces. We didn’t know whether we should hug or laugh or continue to sit there with wet cheeks. I grabbed us each a tissue and ran upstairs to hug Joe very, very tightly. That’s how worked up this movie got me – still gets me. ::sigh::

There is more to love than that wholeness of it. That wholeness is a stage of love, before it is ripe enough to slice down the middle, to inspect the insides. Those gory bits are what matters most; never perfect, hopefully worth it. Mine are worth it. 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: “Because it’s the halves that halve you in half.”

  1. I love that movie. Sadly I lived part of it, just we never ended up back together in the end, we called it off. You picked an awesome part.

    • Thank you, Alice. I’m sorry to hear you never ended up back together; but the end of this movie is very reminiscent of the end of The Graduate; in that shower scene, when they hug, I don’t think either one of them looks very certain that they want to be together. It’s sort of heartbreaking. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      • It’s for the best, he is now married to someone he met whilst we were still engaged. It’s for the better then, he’s happy. I’m working on finding who I am, and how to be happy myself. At the end of the movie, when they were together, yet seemed like they didn’t know if they should, it felt like how we were. Sometimes the end is no longer worth it, you lose the emotions and feelings of love, and end up resenting the other for what you went through.

  2. Pingback: The Usual Quotes Usually Work | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: IF YOU’RE A BIRD….I’M A BIRD | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen What we’ve got here is failure to communicate. | My Atheist Blog

  5. I have never even heard of that movie, it looks beautiful, that scene under the sheet… hmmmm. I am so glad you have your worth it Nicole.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Silver Screen | Soulmate | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  7. I don’t know the movie, put your words are good ones!

  8. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  9. I’m surprised to see that this made the list. But happy it did. Thanks =)

So...what do you think?

