Don’t Look Up

face-in-trees-illusion

Bristles of green put cracks in my eggshell heart.

“Do you see it?” you ask, sipping on foam

and heat in midsummer.

I twist blades in my palm and

don’t look up.

“Too bright,” I say.

You swat at the air,

put weight on your elbows.

You’re long, eyes shut towards the sun,

spread out like a praying mantis on its back.

“Mmm,” you say.

Did you see me as I went under?

Fingertips first, forearms, freckles.

My breasts were gone before you

asked if I wanted to get lunch in the city.

I tried to reach you but I was

too tangled in roots and the dark damp of us.

I think you called my name when my

ears were being packed with dirt.

“Mmm.” I said, maybe to myself.

“Maybe I’ll see it tomorrow.”

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

8 responses to “Don’t Look Up

  1. Never thought of drowning in the grass…at least I think that’s what you said…hope I’m not too far off. Love it even if I don’t get it!

  2. You just popped up in my reader and I went yaaaayyyy! I wasn’t disappointed, beautiful Nicole.

  3. This is really cool, actually. I like simple words with a lot of vivid imagery. It would be cool to see this as a part of a collection.

  4. Goose darnit, I know it’s slightly tampering with the rules ..but I nominated you for a Liebster award !

    http://thebutterflyhatch.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/surely-youre-all-tickling-my-nickle/

So...what do you think?

