No thank you, I’m just browsing.

I need to get me one of these.

My friends, I did a horrible thing today. At least I think I did. Being someone who works directly with people every day, I respect anyone who deals with customers on a daily basis. I also respect those who work on commission and “have” to “throw” themselves at customers day in and day out. However, sometimes from a customer’s perspective this can be a little….intimidating? Suffocating? Scary? Dare I say annoying?

It was snowing in New Jersey today. (Woohoo Spring!) And not just any snow – that heavy, wet, slushy snow that splashes up on your Betsey Johnson boots and gets ’em all dirty. I got my nails did, and before going home I decided to wander around. This town – right next to mine – is what Joe likes to call “Snootville”. He grew up one town over, and this particular area is historical and rich and the houses are so big they make me sick. So the downtown area has a Starbucks and bakeries and boutiques. We’re attending a wedding this Friday so I found myself inside one of these boutiques, expecting everything to be out of my price range but curious anyway.

Of course, on a snowy Monday afternoon, I was the only customer in the store. I was greeted by a friendly older woman in jeans and a black turtleneck who asked me what she could help me with. I smiled and mumbled something about the wedding and she immediately started pulling dresses from a rack. I was excited by her enthusiasm and invited her eagerness, commenting one each dress as she ripped them from the stand.

Before I knew it I was in a dressing room, curtain drawn, the same woman standing just outside offering to zip me up when I was ready. I barely had the first dress pulled up before she was peeking in the curtain, asking if I was ready. I didn’t feel uncomfortable in the sense that she was trying to peek in on me for any strange reason, but hey lady, I’m not ready yet, and you just don’t bust into someone’s dressing room. Maybe I need to “grow a pair” or speak up, because while I was happy to try things on, I wasn’t planning on necessarily buying anything, and I felt pressured. That’s when I did that horrible something.

After trying on three dresses she (of course) told me I looked wonderful in (she attempted to accessorize me as well), she hung each one up in a row and asked which one I was planning to purchase. Gah, I wanted more time to consider, more time to look in other stories, just more time.

“Would it help if I told you prices?” she asked.

“Sure,” I said.

“Well this one is $118, the purple is $78 and the pink is just $68!”

“Great,” I said.

“So which one are you going with?”

“The black, I think. I’m just going to run a few errands and I’ll be back to buy it!”

Then I ran outta there like a bat out of the depths of a fiery hell. I feel horrible.

I enjoy going to the Starbucks just down the street. What if she sees me? What if she tells all the other shops to keep an eye out for the bitty who said she’d come back for the dress and never did? Snootville is gonna have a vendetta against me. ::gulp::

Have you ever dealt with over-eager customer service and felt pressured, or motivated to get the hell out of there?

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “No thank you, I’m just browsing.

  1. Yeah, I normally tell them to back off first thing, because I know how they can get. It’s oppressive.

  2. As a person who spent over a decade in various customer sales potions I do not consider what you did to be so bad. Your reaction was well matched with her level of, lets be nice and call it “effort”. I respect customer service people too but there are good ones and bad ones. If I was still in that line of work though, I would prefer twindaddy’s response. Sure it can be taken as rude but I would rather know right away so I can work with other people rather than waste time with some one who knows they wont buy anything from me.

    • You’re right. It may have been better from my end of things to nip it in the bud right away, so we didn’t waste each others time. Thank you for stopping by; good to know I’m not the only one who feels this way. 🙂

  3. Over-eager customer service makes me uncomfortable. I rarely go in stores with no other customers.

  4. Overeager = commission = fun times for Hotspur. Once I got a timeshare telemarketer call, only instead of hanging up on them, I led them to believe, over a series of calls, that I was bringing a church bus full of at least 40 people down to Cincy to attend their presentation. The excitement on the other end of the line each time was palpable.

    Alas, that was right when I had to not do anything I told them I would do. I felt so bad. Okay, I didn’t. And face-to-face depends on if I like the store. Charming Charlie’s I let do whatever. Nearly everywhere else, I ask them to go get me something from a part of the store I won’t even remotely approach. They have to, because commission.

  5. I don’t think that’s even close to rude. They shouldn’t pressure people like that. Shoot, if I were you and planned on buying one of those dresses, I probably would have refused just out of principle.

  6. moi

    She assumed, and you know what assume means… don’t you? 😛

  7. What you did wasn’t rude. She was rude. She was pressuring you because she wanted to make a commission, most likely. And she was aggressive. You were right to do what you did. That’s why I mostly buy stuff online, to avoid the pushy salespeople in stores. I just hate them. They make me so uncomfortable. I don’t blame you at all. I would have done the same thing.

    • Thank you, maire. That’s definitely reassuring. You feel so helpless sometimes, you know? Especially when being aggressive in return is hard for me. If I didn’t feel the need to try EVERYTHING on before buying it, I’d spend more time online shopping as well!

  8. I say you compound the lie next time you see her – “Oh, I meant to come back, but I got a call that my ant farm fell over and had to rush home to rescue the poor dears”.
    Then break out in tears and hug her way too closely for symapthy.

  9. Nah, don’t even think twice about it… That sort of stuff happens all the time hun. She won’t bad mouth you–you weren’t mean or rude.

    I usually just say, “let me think about it for a while. What’s your name? (Or) Do you have a set schedule? I’ll be sure to ask for you if I come back.”

So...what do you think?

