House of Revolving Style

Today’s Prompt:

How important are clothes to you? Describe your style, if you have one, and tell us how appearance impacts how you feel about yourself.

pinkpinkpink

pinkpinkpink

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For a person with self-esteem issues, clothes are very important to me. The right outfit (and some makeup) can make me stand a bit taller, walk a bit faster, and smile a little more.

I change my style, a lot. My hair goes from brunette to red, from medium to pixie short, and one day extensions are thrown in. Depending on my mood, I’m either channeling Molly with a wool fedora and hot pink lipstick or spending the day in a bookstore in a turtleneck and floral skirt. A cute jean jacket and collared shirt make me feel fun and flirty; the skirt and modest long-sleeved shirt make me feel serious and intelligent. It’s amazing, what clothes can do.

Unsure how I’d describe my own style, I turned to the husband.

Me: “Charlie, if I had to describe my style, how would I?”

Charlie: “I don’t know. No idea.”

Me: “Come on, think of something.”

Charlie: “I’m gonna change the channel, OK?” ::goes back to watching television::

Me: “Thanks for the material. I’ll take back that porkroll sandwich I made you!”

Charlie: “It’s not porkroll anyway!” (So it’s turk-roll. Excuse me.)

Love him. ❤

All I'm missin' is Ducky!

All I’m missin’ is Ducky!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Still unsure how I’d describe my own style, I guess I’d settle on eighties eclectic. Although I consider my style diverse, it seems every outfit I put on somehow reminds Joe of his teen years, and that’s okay with me. I do love the eighties.

Sometimes, though, I like to attempt more of a classic look, with a glam yet gothic edge. This is what I was going for on our wedding day, and I was so happy with the results. I felt beautiful and glamorous.

One of my favorites.

One of my favorites.

The best friend and I.

The best friend and I.

Clothing gives me the ability to be a chameleon. I can drape myself in colors and textures that reflect my mood and make me feel powerful.

Constantly revolving my style keeps me excited about me – looking in the mirror each day and seeing the same thing doesn’t gain me any confidence; being whoever I want to at any given moment does.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “House of Revolving Style

  1. Every picture I’ve seen of you could be described as glamorous and beautiful.

    I’m a jeans and t-shirt guy, preferably with an unbuttoned oxford over it (for the pocket). Though right now at work, I’m wearing a red button down shirt with a gold and black tie, so I have no idea what that says about me.

    And does anyone ever really miss Ducky?

    • You flatter me, Guap! Thank you so much 🙂 The oxford makes you stylish. As does the gold in that tie – clearly you are both casual cool AND fancy. You are diverse, Guapowitz!

      I always miss Ducky!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clothes Make the Man | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. I don’t know what I would call your style, but my daughter has the same style. It’s eclectic, taking from 40s, 60s, 80s and now, glam, prom and goth, and is very modular and versatile. It’s awesome, with very few misfires, if any. I love the ever-changing style, even if I don’t really do it myself.

  5. Pingback: Chameleon | A mom's blog

  6. This is so cool…I love your different and kinda unique style…I love the old school styles… 🙂

  7. Pingback: How to Feel Like a Princess | mycookinglifebypatty

  8. Pingback: Why do I look so good? | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: How important are clothes to you? | Processing the life

  10. Pingback: Overdress Or Underdress | Anchors Aweigh

  11. Eighties are cool, so I approve! 😉
    Your wedding dress is very beautiful by the way! Having read this, I think you look fabulous ;).

  12. Your style is awesome. I wish I had a flare for style, but I’m a jeans and ball cap kind of girl. (and I always miss Ducky too!!)

  13. I WAS Ducky…and sometimes, I think I always will be; pining away for my Molly, who never even knew who I was. My wife is patient and beautiful, but even she doesn’t get me all the way…just like Molly never got Ducky, not really…

  14. Pic #1 is hypnotic – in a good way, of course!

  15. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  16. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Kick-Ass Ireland!

So...what do you think?

