the worst of it

 

you watched me

on the big screen

shattering like a

tea pot and screaming

the worst of it

into a void that’s been

empty for years

 

you kept my

hands warm

through the worst of it

you let me see

all the shapes

in the clouds

and still kissed me after

 

and when I am

a woman again

you lay hands on

my hips like

a beautiful heirloom

every flaw is

some wonderful memory

 

my heart continually breaks

at every god

damn

familiar seam

and you are waiting

every single time

you are waiting for me

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “the worst of it

  1. Mom

    Happy Thankgiving–That one was a little scarey, but I kinda liked it!!!

So...what do you think?

