this time I felt it –

I dreamt you did it again

that ignorance you stew so well

and like before I held the only lamp

I own in one hand and opened my

mouth wide as a caroler’s I listened to the

heavy revving that came booming from my

own sore throat too tired to even form

words now besides they’re always just vapor

so I held the trophy lamp above my head

and this time my joints didn’t all turn to gelatin

this time there was power in it – meaning

this time I felt it leave my fingertips I counted

every piece of fixture and bulb that scattered

like raindrops across my living room floor only

things didn’t grow dark just brighter so bright

I lost you in all of the lovely profoundness

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

So...what do you think?

