something beyond the smoke

 

I open my mouth and

all that crawls out is love

in a way I’ve never seen it

before, thin as silk but

lassoing mountains nonetheless.

 

If I never believed in

something beyond the smoke

I did when you were filling

in the dip in my chest that

was meant only for you –

 

my heart left my body

on the same day

he was born,

your great grandfather –

 

and I swear your hands

were warm from holding his.

 

***

Thank you to everyone who sent well wishes and congratulations our way. Mommy, Daddy and baby are all home and doing wonderfully. Our beautiful little boy entered this world right on time, May 26th, 10 PM. I have no doubt his great grandfather had a hand in it all. We couldn’t be happier – it’s hard to look at my son and not have my eyes well up. We are being careful to enjoy even the tiniest of moments within our new family of three. The photo above is from a very special newborn shoot with ShayLeigh Photography. Isn’t he the handsomest?

P.S.

If you’d like to help us win a free 5X7 from the photoshoot, just click on that link above and it will bring you to the photographer’s Facebook page; simply scroll down and “like” that same photo of our son, and also “like” the photographer’s page to help us win.

Peace and love to all. I’m so full of both at the moment. xo

22 Comments

Filed under Writing

22 responses to “something beyond the smoke

  1. Congratulations! He is beautiful. So very beautiful. 🙂

  2. Lorraine. Jones

    He is georgous. ..best of luck and happiness
    Love the Jones’

  3. Congratulations, it looks sweet baby

  4. So many congratulations to you, Nicole Marie. Cherish every moment x

  5. lifeasagaymom

    Aww Nicole he is oh so handsome. Not all newborns look so glamorous. Congratulations. Your life is completely starting over from this point on….The rest is still unwritten…..

  6. Saloni

    Congratulations!!! Your baby is beautiful. God bless you all. You are very lucky 🙂

  7. He’s so small! He looks like he’s wrapped up in a wristband. 🙂

  8. I’m tearing up here. Your words bring back those first moments. Beautifully written.

  9. Dear Nicole,
    I have absolutely loved seeing pictures of your sweet, baby Jack. What a beautiful boy – he puts a smile on my face every day and I can almost feel (and smell) that sweet baby noggin up under my chin. I think he needs an Auntie Michelle to come spoil him. Enjoy your summer and your “time off”
    Much love! xo

    • Michelle,

      Thank you so much!! 🙂 He is absolutely amazing. It is still so surreal to call myself a mommy. He DOES need an Auntie Michelle to come spoil him! 😉 I am soaking up every moment I have with him before I’m forced to go back to work! Love you, lady! xo

  10. Cheia de Dica

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    beautiful post

So...what do you think?

