And Don’t Forget to Love Unconditionally

my grandfather came to me yesterday
he was hiding in between the beats
of my son’s sweet cries

hello, hello, hello

quit counting breaths
quit weighing the strength of
his grip on your fingers

I am taking care of things.

I was a child once,
he says.

I am a child now, I think.

my son looks up and smiles at nothingness,
his hollow mouth is valley wide

I imagine my grandfather
whispering firm instructions:

be happy
be healthy
go easy on your mother

I kiss the sky and whisper back
hello, hello, hello

I miss you so.

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “And Don’t Forget to Love Unconditionally

  1. Wow this is beautiful 🙂

  2. This is outstanding ! Remarkably beautiful ! 🙂

  3. Kir Piccini

    this was stunning my friend. Those voices, those hands, those souls come to us when we need them most. Such love.

  4. I lost my Grampa in November and my son was born in March. This is exactly my life right now!

So...what do you think?

