Unhinged

My neck’s grown tired of always
holding up all the darkness in my head
but I am accustomed to backstroking
against this current; the absentminded
muscles I’ve developed tell me so.

Once I was a baby,
once I didn’t know the ache of unhappiness
but only the forgettable way my small mouth
formed words no one understood.

When I turned into a woman
my heart went all soot and damp earth.
People made it so. The ones I chose to love in fact.
Each unhinged my ribcage and stuffed it with warm deceit.

I’m a modern day Medusa
stuck staring at unwell-adjusted me,
busy chiseling the corners of my mouth
into the slightest of smiles.

13 Comments

Filed under Writing

13 responses to “Unhinged

  1. That was beautiful sad and exactly how I feel at times… well said

  2. this is so very beautiful and haunting. and oh how i relate.

  3. “but I am accustomed to backstroking
    against this current; the absentminded
    muscles I’ve developed tell me so.” This particular part speaks to me. Powerful poem!

  4. “my heart went all soot and damp earth” . . .why do I feel exactly that way some days. Love this one!!

  5. Beautifully written. And how striking 🙂

So...what do you think?

