Mother in the Dark

splitface

 

I have built a respectable home

With all the muddy flesh of motherhood.

My son nestles in and dreams with small hands

That cup the treasures on my chest – his now,

Soft and modest as they are but dripping

Liquid gold into his open, expectant mouth.

 

I mourn for a body that is no longer mine

Yet is strength without muscle. I run tired fingers

Along all the fullness of me and knead shapes

Into the flesh like some sort of amateur potter.

I throw words at my reflection: nourishment,

Goddess, humbled origin.

 

In the dark I belong to me, to my husband’s

Large hands that cup the two soft, pale things

On my chest he claims to be in awe of but I am

Heavy as the ocean once again. He hovers over me

Like molasses, whispers gentle reminders into

Every inch, every gentle curve.

 

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

11 responses to “Mother in the Dark

  1. rachel

    beautiful description of a real woman.

  2. I am so happy for you, and sorry that I haven’t really kept in touch. Life, etc., got in the way. I want you to know I’m proud of you, and not in that condescending cheesy way, either.

    • Edward!!!!! It’s ok! I’ve missed you! I hope all is well. Thank you so much. Our little boy is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. 🙂

      • I’ve missed you too! So much! I’m sorry I “went away” for a while. You have the cutest and coolest fam ever! What’s little guy’s name? I bet you’re an awesome mom! I know you are.

        OH Guess what? I’m going to be a grandfather in December! Yeah, my daughter is having a little boy! I’m psyched. Other than being old enough to be a grandfather. lol

  3. Jessie Martinovic

    one of the most touching segments of writing I have read in a while, thank you

So...what do you think?

