“Find Me When You’re Starting Over” by Nicole Marie

My friend Christy was kind enough to re-share a poem of mine, originally featured during the start-up of her page, Words for the Weekend. Please, give it a read and check out her page, Words for the Year; there are so many influential pieces waiting to be read.

Words for the Year

I twisted into me
into knots and threads of darkened memory
like tree trunk rings or strips of film
of jagged time.

There are shards of light there
in those tied up corners
and those softened edges
of flesh and bone.

Hold me up to the sun
and study the maps
that run through my veins
they’re all places I have been.

The signs along the highway
have turned a jaded green
but I remain a brilliant
shade of transparent gold.

I can guide you at night
I can teach you
spread out on the hood of your car
one finger on some tiny destination.

I am a breathing mess of
sun down and sun up
of abandoned buildings
and new beginnings.

Find me when you’re starting over
I have been everywhere
I have grown rings
twisted into the depths of me.

“Find Me When You’re Starting Over” by Nicole…

View original post 25 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to ““Find Me When You’re Starting Over” by Nicole Marie

  1. Ugh. Gorgeous, Nicole. It’s like liquid sugar.

  2. ❤️❤️❤️
    Every time I read this, my breath catches in the small of my neck and then I have to spend the next ten minutes reminding myself to breathe.
    Simply gorgeous.

  3. Yours is a rare talent

So...what do you think?

