Terminal

if there was a payphone

for the other side

it’d sit unassumingly

on a broken city sidewalk

taking numbers,

taking calls,

no takers

 

but I’d shimmy up

grab the receiver like

I’d been expecting

someone,

balance it like

precious crystal

between one ear

and one shoulder,

gifted as a

trapeze artist

 

two deep breaths

a signaled hello

tell me,

I’m cringing

shaping limbs into the

mildest of philosophers

 

is it as

barren

as in

my dreams?

 

the dial tone

answers back

straight shooter

 

this elegant thing

it’s sunrise

it’s terminal

start breathing

stop dreaming

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

5 responses to “Terminal

  1. Wow. No words. I’m going to go read that about fifty more times. Amazing.

  2. I love the imagery here (“mildest of philosophers”) and the elegant ease of the language.

So...what do you think?

