Daily Prompt: A Blogging Chameleon

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

When I first decided to create a blog, I struggled with the title. I think my first idea had something to do with me and my favorite pair of black boots. (I have a serious obsession with boots. I wear them year-round, and when I find a pair I love, I wear them until the soles are falling off.) That didn’t seem to flow. Then I think I tried to go all poetic, intelligent-sounding, some crazy sophisticated oh-wow-she-must-know-what-she’s-talking-about title. I thought the title said it all. 

Then I thought, and thought, and thought some more, and so words&otherthings came to be. It’s simple, isn’t it? This blog is all about the words….and other things, more than the words. It’s the stories behind the words. For me, it was a way of leaving my blog open-ended; there’s no specific theme happening here. I have the freedom to bitch about workshare some poetry, even get all serious if I want to. That’s when I learned it isn’t all about the title. Sure, it plays a role in getting other bloggers to click on that link. For example: Oh My Gawd Just Do What I Say? Now what the hell is that all about? ::click:: Immediately, you’re interested. But what you’ll find even more interesting is Ginger’s sense of humor, her wit, her beautiful way with words. Stuph Blog? Who is this guy and why does he spell “stuff” wrong? ::click:: Because he’s frikkin awesome that’s why! Edward Hotspur? Does this guy think he’s HAWT shit or something? ::click:: Oh wait…HE IS! And these are just a few.

So what does my blog’s title mean to me? It means I can be whatever I feel like being, on any given day. I don’t have to stick to a theme, I can write about whatever I want, whenever I want. I can (try) to be funny, I can cry on my keyboard while I pour my heart out, I can drink too many glasses of wine and bang out a poem at midnight. I’m a blogging chameleon!

What does your blog’s title mean to you? 

A few other Daily Prompt posts:

http://mairedubhtx.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/daily-prompt-all-about-me/

http://edwardhotspur.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/how-will-i-know-a-daily-prompt-post/

http://hastywords.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/again/

http://stuphblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/why-stuph/

http://joeowensblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/daily-prompt-all-about-me/

http://toofulltowrite.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/daily-prompt-all-about-me-the-mostly-true-origin-story-of-toofulltowrite/

http://thecheekydiva.com/2013/02/12/daily-promptall-about-me-did-you-think-id-let-this-one-slip-by/

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

23 responses to “Daily Prompt: A Blogging Chameleon

  1. I like this challenge because there are some interesting blog names out there. Mine is very vanilla and I expect I will plunk around and try something new when it feels right. What I have now leaves me feeling kind of flat.

    • Sometimes straight to the point is alright! But I know what you mean. When I come across a really clever blogging name, sometimes I go “aw man, I wish I would have though of that”.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: The truth behind the name | Purple Rosemary

  4. I love the name of your blog! And now, the story behind it too 🙂

  5. Don’t cry, Nicole!! I would like to read some drunken poetry, though.

  6. I like the name of your blog and now that I know the story behind it, I like it even better. Great post, Nicole Marie.

  7. Excellent logic for a blog name!

  8. I suck at titles. When I was trying to name my blog I gave up and just wrote the first post. It was the first thing I’d tried writing post radiation. When I was done, I read back through it, and there was the story river phrase. And since I live near a whitewater river it seemed to fit. But I still suck at figuring out titles. I love yours though, and it’s one of the reasons I first clicked on this blog. The title said it all, simply and to the point. I thought, now here’s a person who knows how to title!

  9. You are sooooo sweet…. what a lovely shout out to all your peeps. 😉

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

  11. Awwww… you said I was hawt shit. I’m so flattered, I could be slid under a door. You’re totally awesomesauce, Nicole! That’s one of the ‘other things’.

So...what do you think?

